Monday, 2nd August, 2021

Sudan’s Role within the Red Sea bordering countries

The security of the Red Sea is one of the most important direct security centres for the national security of Sudan. The Red Sea is the conduit between Sudan and the outside world, through the open seas in the Indian and Atlantic Oceans and across the Mediterranean and the Suez Canal, which places particular importance on the security of Sudan and the Arab countries bordering the Red Sea. The disruption of navigation in the Red Sea, for example, means that all world trade between Sudan and the outside world has stopped. The strategic and pivotal importance of the Red Sea is one of the most important issues of not only Sudan’s national security, but also Arab national security as a whole.


One of Sudan’s natural gates on the Red Sea is Port Sudan, which is one of the most efficient ports in Africa. The Port Sudan, which opened in 1909 and which has a capacity of 1.3 million containers per year, is not only the main port of Sudan, but also considered an important seaport for some of the neighbouring countries closed off from the sea, such as Ethiopia, Chad and South Sudan.2

However, there are many shortcomings that reduce its efficiency, such as congestion and delays in the movement of freight, and capacity constraints. As a result of these shortcomings, capacity—of Port Sudan, in particular—is reduced to 80% at best.56 There is an urgent need to improve the efficiency of Port Sudan and other ports, such as the port of Suakin on the Red Sea, to aid in the revival of the country and the speed of investment recovery. President Bashir and Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan signed a number of agreements in 2017, including Turkey’s reconstruction of Suakin.3 However, observers saw the $4 billion deal between Turkey, Qatar and Sudan to develop Suakin as a highly strategic and politically sensitive move, as it could allow Turkey to establish a military presence on the Red Sea. At least for the time being, these projects appear to have stalled. A $2.4 billion contract to develop and operate the port, given to the Philippine company ICTSI to manage and operate the southern container terminal at Port Sudan for 20 years, was also suspended. Opponents to the deal believe that the company is a front for Dubai Ports World.58 It is important to raise the efficiency of Port Sudan to raise the level and rates of Sudanese exports of agricultural and animal products.

There are a number of regional and international initiatives for the Red Sea in which Sudan has been actively involved, including but not limited to:

  • The American Peace Institute initiative, to study and anticipate the dangers of violent conflict and explore opportunities in order to address those challenges;4
  • The new Saudi initiative for ‘Arab and African coastal states of the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden’, for coordination and cooperation in political, economic, security, cultural and environmental issues, set up in December 2018, comprised seven countries: Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Djibouti, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen and Jordan;5
  • The Egyptian Initiative, set up in December 2017, was created to establish a framework for cooperation between Arab and African countries bordering the Red Sea to contend with foreign interests alongside the Red Sea countries,6
  • Blue carbon policy and capacity building to simplify the policies of the region. The Blue Carbon Policy Assessment in the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden is a regional initiative in collaboration with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to formulate the Blue Carbon Policy and to build capacity to streamline these policies in the region. The regional perspective is based on the scope and environmental features of the region, and the regional approach to the management of major Red Sea and Gulf of Aden habitats, in accordance with the efforts of the Regional Organization for the Conservation of the Environment of the Red Sea & Gulf of Aden (PERSGA) and its member states. The study was conducted in eight countries: Yemen, Abu Dhabi, Somalia, Sudan, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Egypt and Djibouti;7
  • PERSGA;
  • PERSGA (the Jeddah Convention).

It is believed that, the ports of Sudan will undergo a tremendous development with the new era in Sudan. Tis a challenging area for the new governments.

Sumaya Adam Eish Ishag

Sumaya Adam Eish Ishag

Senior Translator

Read More

Areas of Expertise

  • Research
  • Editing
  • Translation

Education

  • M. A. in Translation & Interpretation, American University of Sharjah, UAE
  • B. Sc. In Rural Economics, University of Khartoum, Sudan

Bio

Skilled writer and translator dedicated to work to high standards. A dynamic experienced translator. She translated for UN’s FAO and other regional and international organizations. She is also the sole Author of a Fisheries and Marine Science Dictionary, English-Arabic “the first of its kind in the Arab world”. CEO and Founder of TBLT, Khartoum, the Translation Firm which translated into English the Arabic legislation of the State of Qatar. Has great experience in the fields of scientific research, business and technical writing and translation, in addition to translation of hundreds of economic, administrative and scientific reports and studies. Volunteered in women and other non-governmental associations.

الأربعاء, 17 أبريل, 2024

دور السودان ضمن منظومة الدول المطلة على البحر الأحمر

عتبر أمن البحر الأحمر من أهم المحاور الأمنية المباشرة للأمن الوطني السوداني. يشكل البحر الأحمر قناة الوصل بين السودان والعالم الخارجي عبر البحار المفتوحة في المحيطين الهندي والأطلسي عبر البحر المتوسط وقناة السويس، مما يضفى أهمية خاصة على أمن السودان والدول العربية المطلة على البحر الأحمر. إن تعطل الملاحة في البحر الأحمر على سبيل المثال، يعني توقف كل حركة التجارة العالمية بين السودان والعالم الخارجي. وبالتالي تعد الأهمية الإستراتيجية والمحورية للبحر الأحمر من أهم قضايا الأمن الوطني السوداني والأمن القومي العربي ككل.


احدي بوابات السودان الطبيعية على البحر الأحمر هي ميناء بورتسودان الذي يعد واحدا من أكثر الموانئ كفاءة في أفريقيا. لا يعتبر ميناء بورتسودان الذي تم افتتاحه عام 1909 بسعة 1.3 مليون حاوية سنويا، الميناء الرئيسي للسودان فحسب، بل يعد منفذا بحريا مهما لبعض دول الجوار المغلقة عن البحر مثل إثيوبيا وتشاد وجنوب السودان.

لكن هنالك كثيرا من أوجه القصور التي تقلل كفاءته كالازدحام والتأخير الكبير في حركة الشحن والقيود على السعة وبالتالي فإن سعة عمل ميناء بورتسودان على وجه الخصوص تقل بنحو 80% على الأقل. ثمة حاجة ماسة لتحسين كفاءة أداء الميناء والموانئ الأخرى كميناء سواكن للمساعدة في نهضة البلاد وسرعة انتعاش الاستثمار. وكان الرئيس البشير قد وقع مع الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان عام 2017، عددا من الاتفاقيات تتضمن قيام تركيا بإعادة بناء ميناء سواكن السوداني على البحر الأحمر. ونظر المراقبون إلى الصفقة البالغة 4 مليارات دولار بين تركيا وقطر من جهة والسودان من جهة أخرى لتطوير هذا الميناء كخطوة استراتيجية للغاية وحركة حساسة من الناحية السياسية لأنها قد تسمح لتركيا بإنشاء وجود عسكري على البحر الأحمر.ويبدو أن هذه المشروعات توقفت في الوقت الحالي على الأقل. كما تم تعليق عقد قيمته 2.4 مليار دولار لتطوير وتشغيل الميناء، مُنح لشركة (آي.سي.تي.إس.آي) الفلبينية لإدارة وتشغيل مرفأ الحاويات الجنوبي في ميناء بورتسودان لعشرين عاماً، والتي يعتقد المعارضون إن الشركة هي واجهة لموانئ دبي العالمية. من المهم رفع كفاءة الميناء لرفع مستوى ومعدلات الصادرات السودانية من المنتجات الزراعية والحيوانية. 

هنالك عدد من المبادرات الإقليمية والدولية عن البحر الأحمر والتي يشارك فيها السودان بفعالية، نذكر منها على سبيل المثال لا الحصر:

  • مبادرة معهد السلام الأمريكي لدراسة وتوقع مخاطر الصراع العنيف واستكشاف فرص مواجهة تلك التحديات.
  • المبادرة السعودية الجديدة لـ “الدول الساحلية العربية والأفريقية للبحر الأحمر وخليج عدن”، من أجل التنسيق والتعاون في القضايا السياسية والاقتصادية والأمنية والثقافية والبيئية، ديسمبر 2018، الدول الست المشمولة في المبادرة هي، المملكة العربية السعودية مصر وجيبوتي والصومال والسودان واليمن والأردن
  • المبادرة المصرية، ديسمبر 2017، لإقامة إطار للتعاون بين الدول العربية والأفريقية المتاخمة للبحر الأحمر، لمواجهة المصالح الأجنبية إلى جانب دول البحر الأحمر
  • سياسة الكربون الأزرق وبناء القدرات لتبسيط السياسات في المنطقة. يعد تقييم سياسات الكربون الأزرق في البحر الأحمر وخليج عدن مبادرة إقليمية بالتعاون مع برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة لصياغة سياسة الكربون الأزرق وبناء القدرات لتبسيط هذه السياسات في المنطقة. يعتمد المنظور الإقليمي على النطاق والميزات البيئية الخاصة بالمنطقة، والنهج الإقليمي في إدارة الموائل الرئيسية للبحر الأحمر وخليج عدن، وفقًا للجهود التي بذلتها PERSGA ودولها الأعضاء. أجريت الدراسة في ثماني دول من بينها: اليمن، أبو ظبي، الصومال، السودان، المملكة العربية السعودية، الأردن، مصر وجيبوتي.
  • (PERSGA  (المنظمة الإقليمية للحفاظ على بيئة البحر الأحمر وخليج عدن.
  • الاتفاقية الإقليمية لحفظ بيئة البحر الأحمر وخليج عدن (اتفاقية جدة).

تنتظر السودان تحديات كبيرة لتطوير موانئه التي سيحتاج إليها في التنمية. وتنتظر الحكومات الجديدة تحديات جمة لمجابهة هذه التحديات.

د. سمية آدم عيسى

د. سمية آدم عيسى

باحث اول (سابقا)

المزيد

مجالات الخبرة

  • الكتابة
  • باحث
  • التعديل
  • الترجمة

التعليم

  • دكتوراه في الترجمة العامة.
  • ماجستير في الترجمة والترجمة الفورية ، الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة ، الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
  • بكالوريوس. في الاقتصاد الريفي ، جامعة الخرطوم ، السودان.

السيرة الشخصية

كاتبة متخصصة في الشئون السياسية والجيوستراتيجية ومترجمة ذات خبرة كبيرة، فقد ترجمت لمنظمة الأغذية والزراعة التابعة للأمم المتحدة والمنظمات الإقليمية والدولية الأخرى. مؤلفة لقاموس العلوم السمكية والبحرية، قاموس إنجليزي-عربي الأول من نوعه في العالم العربي. مؤسسة ومالكة شركة (تي بي ال تي) للترجمة، الخرطوم، وهي الشركة التي ترجمت التشريعات في موقع الميزان لدولة قطر إلى الانجليزية. لديها خبرة كبيرة في مجال البحث العلمي، والكتابة، بالإضافة إلى ترجمة عدد كبير من الدراسات الاقتصادية والإدارية والعلمية. متطوعة في عدد من الجمعيات النسائية والجمعيات غير الحكومية الأخرى.