Sunday, 26th September, 2021

Towards Africa: The Struggle over the Horn of Africa


because there is currently a struggle between regional and international powers to exert influence over it due to its strategic and geopolitical importance, as we shall recognize. Sea lanes are one of the most important elements of power and influence for those who can control them, due to their strategic role in maintaining the international and regional security. Sea lanes are considered as the main basis for resolving conflicts and regional and international control. From this point of view, the Horn of Africa is of great importance because it represents the most important sea lanes at the regional and international levels. The Horn of Africa region also represents the most important factors of regional balance and stability, due to its distinctive geographical location and great strategic, military, political and economic significance due to its overlooking of the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean. The strategic importance of the region is based on its proximity to Bab al-Mandeb Strait, which controls the Red Sea from the south. This makes it a region of competition between all the greedy foreign powers in the Red Sea and the east of Africa as a whole.

Download  View

Dr.Ibrahim Karsany

Dr.Ibrahim Karsany

Economic consultant

Read More

Areas of Expertise

  • Public Policy
  • Development issues
  • Economic Planning
  • Competitiveness

Education

Ph.D. in Economics.

bio

Dr. Ibrahim Karsany graduated from Khartoum University with a Bs.C. (Hon) in economics, followed by a Ph.D. in development economics from Leeds University, England. He has accumulated a rich research experience in different fields of study ranging from development studies, economic planning, and problems of under-development to total quality management and competitiveness of nations.

Dr. Karsany’s work experience extends over four decades and ranges from university teaching, at both undergraduate and graduate levels, to working in international organizations such as the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and in Governments, e.g, as Advisor to the Ministry of Economy, Oman, Muscat and as Economic Development Advisor, Department of Economic Development, Dubai, as well as in the Private Sector (DPPRC, Bhuth).

He has been a Visiting Professor and Scholar at reputable academic institutions; notable amongst them are Bergen University, Norway, The Scandinavian Institute for African Studies, Uppsala, Sweden, and The Hungarian Academy of Science, Budapest. He also published a number of studies in learned specialized international journals and served on the Editorial Boards of Academic Journals in Sudan and abroad; e.g, The Review of African Political Economy (ROAPE), published in England. He has also presented papers as well as participated in a considerable number of international conferences, seminars and workshops and has published more than sixty pieces in daily printed as well as electronic papers covering a wide range of socio-economic as well as political topics and issues.

Contact email

ikursany@bhuth.ae

الثلاثاء, 18 يونيو, 2024

التوجه نحو إفريقيا (الصراع حول القرن الأفريقي)


يدور‭ ‬في‭ ‬الوقت‭ ‬الراهن‭ ‬صراع‭ ‬بين‭ ‬القوى‭ ‬الاقليمية‭ ‬والدولية‭ ‬لبسط‭ ‬النفوذ‭ ‬عليه‭ ‬وذلك‭ ‬لأهميته‭ ‬الاستراتيجية‭ ‬والجيوسياسية،‭ ‬كما‭ ‬سنرى‭. ‬تعد‭ ‬الممرات‭ ‬البحرية‭ ‬من‭ ‬أهم‭ ‬عناصر‭ ‬القوة‭ ‬والنفوذ‭ ‬للذي‭ ‬يتمكن‭ ‬من‭ ‬السيطرة‭ ‬عليها‭ ‬وذلك‭ ‬لدورها‭ ‬الاستراتيجي‭ ‬في‭ ‬حفظ‭ ‬أمن‭ ‬النظام‭ ‬الدولي‭ ‬والاقليمي‭.‬‭ ‬فهي‭ ‬تعتبر‭ ‬بمثابة‭ ‬المرتكز‭ ‬الأساسي‭ ‬لحسم‭ ‬الصراعات‭ ‬والتحكم‭ ‬الاقليمي‭ ‬والدولي‭. ‬من‭ ‬هذا‭ ‬المنطلق‭ ‬تكتسب‭ ‬منطقة‭ ‬القرن‭ ‬الأفريقي‭ ‬أهمية‭ ‬بالغة‭ ‬لأنها‭ ‬تمثل‭ ‬أهم‭ ‬الممرات‭ ‬البحرية‭ ‬على‭ ‬الصعيدين‭ ‬الاقليمي‭ ‬والدولي‭. ‬كما‭ ‬تمثل‭ ‬منطقة‭ ‬القرن‭ ‬الأفريقي‭ ‬أهم‭ ‬عوامل‭ ‬التوازن‭ ‬والاستقرار‭ ‬الاقليمي،‭ ‬لما‭ ‬لها‭ ‬من‭ ‬موقع‭ ‬جغرافي‭ ‬مميز‭ ‬وأهمية‭ ‬استراتيجية‭ ‬وعسكرية‭ ‬وسياسية‭ ‬واقتصادية‭ ‬كبيرة‭ ‬بحكم‭ ‬اطلالها‭ ‬على‭ ‬البحر‭ ‬الأحمر‭ ‬والمحيط‭ ‬الهندي‭. ‬وتأتي‭ ‬أهمية‭ ‬المنطقة‭ ‬استراتيجياً‭ ‬بحكم‭ ‬قربها‭ ‬من‭ ‬مضيق‭ ‬باب‭ ‬المندب‭ ‬المتحكم‭ ‬في‭ ‬البحر‭ ‬الأحمر‭ ‬من‭ ‬ناحية‭ ‬الجنوب،‭ ‬لذا‭ ‬كانت‭ ‬منطقة‭ ‬تنافس‭ ‬بين‭ ‬كل‭ ‬القوى‭ ‬الخارجية‭ ‬الطامعة‭ ‬في‭ ‬البحر‭ ‬الأحمر‭ ‬والشرق‭ ‬الأفريقي‭ ‬ككل‭.‬

تحميل  عرض

د.إبراهيم كرسني

د.إبراهيم كرسني

مستشار إقتصادي

المزيد

مجالات الخبرة

  • السياسة العامة
  • قضايا التنمية
  • التخطيط الاقتصادي
  • القدرة التنافسية

تعليم

دكتوراه في الاقتصاد

السيرة الذاتية

تخرج الدكتور إبراهيم كرسني من جامعة الخرطوم حيث حصل على بكالوريوس في الاقتصاد مع مرتبة الشرف ومن ثم الدكتوراه في التنمية الاقتصادية من جامعة ليدز، بإنجلترا. وقد اكتسب خبرة بحثية واسعة في مختلف مجالات الدراسة بدءا من دراسات التنمية والتخطيط الاقتصادي ومشاكل التخلف الاقتصادي إلى إدارة الجودة الشاملة والقدرة التنافسية للدول.

تمتد خبرة الدكتور كرسني العملية على مدى أربعة عقود وتتراوح بين التدريس الجامعي، سواء على المستوى الجامعي أو على مستوى الدراسات العليا، والعمل في المنظمات الدولية مثل برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والحكومات، على سبيل المثال، عمل مستشارا لوزارة الاقتصاد في مسقط بسلطنة عمان ومستشار التنمية الاقتصادية في الدائرة الاقتصادية بدبي، وكذلك في القطاع الخاص مع مركز دبي لبحوث السياسات العامة.

وقد كان أستاذ زائر وباحث في المؤسسات الأكاديمية ذات السمعة الطيبة؛ ومن أبرزها جامعة بيرغن، بالنرويج، والمعهد الاسكندنافي للدراسات الأفريقية، في أوبسالا، بالسويد، وأكاديمية العلوم الهنغارية، بودابست، المجر. كما نشر عددا من الدراسات في المجلات العلمية المتخصصة، وعمل في مجالس تحرير المجلات الأكاديمية في السودان والخارج؛ على سبيل المثال، مجلة استعراض الاقتصاد السياسي الأفريقي، التي تنشر في انكلترا. وقدم أيضا أوراق بحث مختلفة وشارك في عدد كبير من المؤتمرات والحلقات الدراسية وحلقات العمل الدولية ونشر أكثر من ستين مقال في المطبوعات اليومية فضلا عن ورقات بحث إلكترونية تغطي طائفة واسعة من المواضيع والقضايا الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية .

وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

ikursany@bhuth.ae